Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Mac-telnet rarely works anymore?

Wed Oct 24, 2012 2:29 am

Hi,

I have lots of installs of mt equipment (100+ units). ive noticed over the past 6 months that the mac-telnet tool rarely works any more. (from mikrotik to mikrotik). I can always mac-ping. but mac-telnet will ask for username and password then say connected, and then disconnected. (never shows splash screen)

its so bad ive had to go into all of my routers and RE-enable telnet and make sure they have an ip address so that i can connect one MT to another. (this does not apply to )

the only thing i can see is maybe ive upgraded several of my routers to ros5 and some are still 3.28 or 2.9.51 but that should not matter for mac-telnet. i have 3 different examples im looking at now, ip neighbor will mac-ping and i can telnet into BUT NO MAC-TELNET.

i cant in anyway rely on mac-telnet like i used to as its a great layer 2 tool.

anyone else seeing this?

i always have firewall input chain accept, but that does not affect it. is there a setting if i using a bridge that i have to set that is new? prior i could count on mac-telnet 100%. id often just power up a MT and connect it knowing once i got to office i could configure it via the other MTs on site. this is no longer the case.
tks
:beep :beep :beep
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mac-telnet rarely works anymore?

Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:43 am

AFAIK mac telnet have not changed in a long time, however i have 6.0rc, and 5.xx releases mostly, have not seen any problems using mac-telnet from router to router, same way - no problems using mac-winbox.
 
coltaan
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:27 pm

Re: Mac-telnet rarely works anymore?

Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:11 am

I have such problems too. We have 300+ mikrotik routers in our network, and the mac-telnet is variably work or not.
I don't founded the regularity when work or when not.
All of our routers are upgraded to v5.20.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Re: Mac-telnet rarely works anymore?

Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:27 pm

anyone from mikrotik care to chime in? this is a pretty big issue for us.
:beep :beep :beep
 
akant
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:29 am

Mac-telnet rarely works anymore?

Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:35 am

I agree with this as well. Mac telnet has had issues recently.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Re: Mac-telnet rarely works anymore?

Tue Nov 13, 2012 5:37 am

still not resolved.

Im seeing this right now on a RB 433 ros 3.30 to RB 532 ros 2.9.40 and also to a RB532 ros 2.9.51. all at same location, on same switch, can mac-ping but no mac-telnet

in general mac-telnet- Some times it works, but 90% of the time it does not. Mac-Ping works and of course 1ms ping. there is one Cisco 2900 switch connecting these MTs. telnet over ip works.

This is unusual as i thought this only to be a issue on later ROS version. I can confirm that back when 2.9.51 was the latest ROS, i would use MAC-telnet EXTENSIVELY (many many times a day), and it was 100% reliable.

The only thing i notice is common (but not always ) is the issue occurs when using a bridge with two ports, one Ethernet and one a wifi card in AP-bridge mode (very common configuration, "dumb" wifi access point ).

I'll email support and link to this thread (i know they prefer direct email, but maybe its a bug).
:beep :beep :beep

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sarada and 149 guests