Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jmay
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:26 pm

LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Jun 06, 2017 11:28 pm

Anyone seen this before? I spent a week trying to track down the source of packet loss. I have a chain of 4 towers all linked together with Airfiber 5x's and an RB 3011 at each site connected via OSPF. I was seeing 1% packet loss on each link, so 4% by the time we got to the end of the chain. I spent most of my time troubleshooting airfibers thinking they were the problem, but I got desperate and started trying random things. Turning off the LCD displays on each router solved the problem! Once I disabled them the packet loss instantly went away, and I mean instantly! I'm wondering if the display doesnt emit some type of interference into the ethernet ports. I had mine set to always on with no backlight timeout and they were set to change every 1 min to informative slide show.

I can turn the lcd back on and within a few pings causes loss again.

Weird huh?
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6318
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Jun 06, 2017 11:53 pm

This probably only happens when your CPU is already (nearly) fully loaded.
Try to find out why that is...
 
jmay
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:26 pm

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:11 am

The busiest of the 4 routers runs at 30 percent, the least busy router runs 20%. These routers are dealing with less than 200 megs of traffic.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1783
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:44 am

Real admins use real keyboards.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6318
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:50 am

There must be more to it. I have LCD enabled on my RB2011 and I can easily get 80 Mbps (the speed of my line), much more than the 32 Mbps that topic indicates.
 
jmay
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:26 pm

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Wed Jun 07, 2017 1:30 am

In my case I could push up to 300 megs on that link during testing and never had a bandwidth problem, just a packet drop problem. If turning the LCD off is the trick that's good enough for me, but man I should have posted this a week ago lol!
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:24 am

Im going to to a big, new thread on this tomorrow, but after 5 days of trying to figure out why only a Rb3011 was showing weird BW speed issues, the fix was to DISABLE THE LCD SCREEN.
Im talking BW issues, during which CPU load is maxing at 30-40% tops, so not high load or high BW... but fix was to DISABLE THE LCD SCREEN.

(rb3011UiAS rOS 6.40.3 , fw: 3.41 (most recent)

(yes, still an issue in sep 2017)

:((
:beep :beep :beep
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:05 am

I have been tracking down a few reports within our network due to 1-2% packet loss.

Isolated the issue to only RB3011UiAS devices. After finding this thread, I disabled the LCD on one unit, and it immediately resolved the packet loss issue. Disabled LCD on 15 or so other units, also resolved the issue.

Running 6.42.3 on all of the affected devices. We will be deploying a mass update to our network disabling the LCD on all RB3011s.

In our network, it is now considered a KNOWN bug. I hope this helps others!
 
OKNET
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:22 am

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:57 am

It would be interesting to know if other products using LCD are affected this way.....
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1449
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:25 am

I have been tracking down a few reports within our network due to 1-2% packet loss.

Isolated the issue to only RB3011UiAS devices. After finding this thread, I disabled the LCD on one unit, and it immediately resolved the packet loss issue. Disabled LCD on 15 or so other units, also resolved the issue.

Running 6.42.3 on all of the affected devices. We will be deploying a mass update to our network disabling the LCD on all RB3011s.

In our network, it is now considered a KNOWN bug. I hope this helps others!
You could also help Mikrotik by mailing Mikrotik support about this problem.

See the support page: https://mikrotik.com/support
Two RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. One does PPPoE and both do IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.47.beta.x / Winbox 3.21 / MikroTik APP 1.3.12
NordVPN viewtopic.php?f=2&t=158439&p=781009 for multiple connections.
 
User avatar
theWISP
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:13 am
Contact:

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:42 pm

I have had nothing but mediocre and 'pass the buck' responses from Mikrotik over the past 15years. I have given up having them listen or assist.
 
sumantagogoi
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:04 pm

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:14 pm

Same problem here. Had to go through our entire 30km network to come to the 3011 to find that the issue was only occurring with the 3011.

Once I knew the problem was with the 3011 google led me here. Thanks a ton for this, whoever found it. I was suspecting it but couldn't exactly place the finger on the LCD.

Hope they release a fix on the bugfix branch. running 6.40.8 (bugfix).
 
viniciusrosado
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:12 pm

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:49 pm

Same problem here.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:35 pm

as i posted above (about a year or 2 ago) i fully confirm this issue on seveal different RB2011 and rb3011s (and one other RB with an LCD screen that im forgetting). fix is always to disable/turn off LCD screen (which i do on all devices now, unfortunately)

I can say that on a few CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+ this issue does NOT occur (granted CCR is entirely different hardware set and much more powerful). at many sites we do latency and service monitoring (graphing) of external locations, so its pretty easy / quick to see when something is off (ie its a red flag when your 1st hop / default GW is showing latency and small packet loss)
:beep :beep :beep
 
blazej44800
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:16 pm

Re: LCD Display causing packet loss... what???

Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:57 am

I can confirm: 2-10% packet loss on RB3011 with RoS 6.43.8 only on ports ether6-10 with ENABLED LCD. Disabling solved it.
CCNA R&S

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amiremed, czolo, FIPTech, jvanhambelgium, kabiraftab, stiv and 83 guests